Photo by Ella Jardim on Unsplash

Here’s My Reading Schedule Where I’m Able To Read 4 Hours Everyday:

Johnnysbookreviews
4 min readJun 3, 2023

--

I work a 9–7 this is how I’m able to read three to four hours everyday. Sometimes I’ll get less, but I usually get around two to four hours read each day. I’ve been doing this schedule for the last two years.

For this schedule, I document every moment from when I wake up to when I go to bed. The bold sentences have my reading times. The overall amount I read in each section will be in parentheses. If you count it up, I read roughly 4 hours and 55 minutes per day.

On my off days, I’ll read more, but I will also do more research for my podcast book reviews.

Here’s the breakdown:

📚 7:00 a.m.
- Wake up about 7 a.m. with no alarm most of the time (I have an alarm clock just in case, but I usually wake up a couple minutes before hand). The book I learned to do this is from My Morning Routine by Benjamin Spall and Michael Xander.

(Disclaimer: I’m not getting commission from the link to Amazon).

🖋️7:00 a.m. to 8:10 a.m.
- I’ll instantly write for 20 minutes in my journal and any post ideas I have, read for 20 minutes, meditate for 10 minutes, visualize my day for 5 minutes, do some affirmations for 5 minutes, and exercise for 10 minutes (jump rope, push ups, and squats are my go tos). The book I learned to do these six activities in the morning is Miracle Morning by Hal Elrod.

(Disclaimer: I’m not getting commission from the link to Amazon).

- I’ll also run a couple miles, but I don’t know if it’s a morning run or night run until that day.

🎙️8:10 a.m. - 8:30 a.m.
Work on my podcast (mostly recording).

🥶🚿 8:31 a.m. - 8:38 a.m.
Take a seven minute cold shower. The book I learned this from is Wim Hof Method by Wim Hof.

(Disclaimer: I’m not getting commission from the link to Amazon).

🎧 8:40 a.m. - 8:55 a.m.
Commute to work while listening to an audiobook (15 minutes).

🎧 9:00 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.
Get sh*t done at work. If I’m not busy with reading tasks and writing emails, I’ll listen to an audiobook from 9 a.m. to 10:30 a.m (1 hour and 30 minutes).

🎧 12:30 p.m. to 1 p.m.
Lunch time. I’ll listen to an audiobook while eating my lunch (30 minutes). I’ll sometimes take a walk around where I work as well.

📚 1 p.m. to 7:00 p.m.
Get more sh*t done at work. Learn what books are selling, finish tasks, and find books I’ll put on my to be read list.

🎧 7:00 p.m. - 7:55 p.m.
Listen to an audiobook after the store closes. I’ll also listen to an audiobook while commuting home (55 minutes). It takes me a bit longer to get home because I stop at Target, Walmart, the grocery store, or GameStop.

🍝8 p.m. - 8:20 p.m.
Eat dinner and watch a movie or a documentary.

🎙️ 8:21 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Edit my podcast episodes again.

🚿9:30 p.m. - 9:40 p.m.
Finish the night with a hot shower.

📚 9:40 p.m. — 11 p.m.
Read a fiction book (1 hour and 20 minutes).

📚 11 p.m. to whenever
I fall asleep to an audiobook (roughly 5 minutes).

BAM. That’s my daily routine. I don’t do this everyday. Some things change, but this is roughly the schedule I stick too. On my off days, I’ll hang with family and friends. Sometimes I’ll hang out with them after work.

If you count the minutes in the bold sentences, it comes out to 4 hours and 55 minutes. This is roughly the time I spend reading. Again, this varies, but I try to hit at least three hours everyday.

If you read during your small pockets of time like grocery shopping and during your commute, you’ll be able to read at least one to to two hours per day.

Hope this helps. Let me know what you think in the comments or if you have any questions.

--

--

Johnnysbookreviews

Podcaster, author, and work at a bookstore. I love reading, and I hope to inspire you to read as well. 📚